# CIVIC & COMMUNITY AWARDS STEERING COMMITTEE TERMS OF REFERENCE







The Civic & Community Awards Steering Committee is an advisory committee of Council who oversees the City of Kelowna's annual awards program to recognize outstanding contributions and achievements in our city.



The Steering Committee has three subcommittees and two supporting organizations that assist with the awards program.

They Include:

- Nominating Committee
- Sports Committee
- Selection Committees
- Arts Council of the Central Okanagan
- Okanagan Central Schools Athletic Association



# **TERMS OF REFERENCE**

#### Outlines

- The objective of the Steering Committee and the scope of its work
- Membership, appointment of members and terms of appointment
- Relationship and role of Council as well as the support provided by City Staff



# ROLE OF COUNCIL

- Mayor appoints a Councillor to sit as a member of the Steering Committee
- Council appoints Steering Committee members
- Councillor appointed to the Steering Committee will advise Council of decisions made regarding the Civic & Community Awards program



#### ROLE OF STEERING COMMITTEE

- Ensure that established procedures and policies are being followed
- Recommend program enhancements
- Provide oversight to the work of the subcommittees
- Recruit and approve sub-committee members
- Liaise with City Council as necessary



#### COMPOSITION OF STEERING COMMITTEE

- Consisting of up to 9 voting members and a Council representative
- Is based on key relationships that assist in the nomination and selection process
- Members represent the following sectors; sport, culture, business and volunteer
- Allows for up to 3 members at large



# **REPORTING RELATIONSHIP**

The Steering Committee will:

- Circulate Agendas and Minutes electronically to all Council members
- Present twice annually to Council, announce the nomination period and award finalists
- Provide an annual report to Council



#### CURRENT STEERING COMMITTEE MEMBERS

- Council Representative Councillor Maxine DeHart
- Chairperson of the Sports Committee Wayne Moore
- Chairperson of the Nominating Committee Dawn Wilkinson
- Representative from ARTSCO Cheryl Miller
- Representative from the Kelowna Chamber of Commerce -Caroline Grover
- Representative from the volunteer sector Ellen Boelcke
- Member at Large Michael Loewen
- Director of Active Living and Culture, or designate Jim Gabriel or Louise Roberts