

# Accessibility Advisory Committee Minutes

Date: Time: Location:	Thursday, April 1, 2025 12:00 pm Knox Mountain Meeting Room
Members Present	Luke Jukes, Kent Stewart (Alternate), Hana Cairns, Michelle Hewitt (Vice Chair), Karine Veldhoen, Beth Flynn, Randy LeBlanc
Members Participating Remotely	Paul Clark (Chair)
Members Absent	Rachael Hanna (Alternate)
Staff Present	Mariko Siggers, Community & Neighbourhood Services Manager; Clint McKenzie, Legislative Coordinator (Confidential), Michael Jud*, Deputy City Clerk

\*Denotes partial attendance

#### 1. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order by the Vice Chair at 12:02 p.m.

The Vice Chair acknowledged the meeting is taking place on the traditional, ancestral, unceded territory of the sylix/Okanagan people.

The Deputy City Clerk advised the Committee that the annual election of Chair and Vice Chair will take place at the next meeting on May 6, 2025, as per the terms of reference. Committee members can touch base with Clint McKenzie if they would like to put their name forward for either position.

The Vice Chair expressed their interest in having their name stand for the position for the upcoming term.

#### 2. Confirmation of Minutes

#### Moved By Karine Veldhoen/Seconded By Luke Jukes

THAT the minutes of March 4, 2025, be approved with the correction of the date of April 8<sup>th</sup> on the last page to April 1<sup>st</sup>.

Carried

#### 3. Reports

## 3.1 Accessibility Plan – Update

- Staff provided an update on the draft plan workshop presentation to Council.
- Discussion ensued regarding the process and when the plan will return to Council for final approval.
- Staff advised they have requested to return to Council for final adoption of the Accessibility Plan on May 12<sup>th</sup>in the afternoon meeting as a Committee Report.

 Discussion ensued regarding the opportunity to tour infrastructure with Council members to review what is working and what is not performing adequately from an accessibility lens.

## 3.2 Plan Implementation

- Committee member Hana Cairns provided an update to the Committee on the opportunity to
  educate and provide resources to local government and community groups related to accessible
  playground infrastructure development in the community.
- Discussed the opportunity to have the organization speak at a future Committee meeting.
- Discussion ensued regarding the accessible parking program including:
  - The number of permits issued versus the number of stalls.
  - Tickets issued from parking in accessible stalls.
  - The fine amount associated with parking in an accessible stall without a permit.
- Staff advised that Parking Services are scheduled to come in late Fall to provide an update to the Committee on the on-street accessible parking policy.

#### 3.3 Committee Membership

- Staff advised that Jeff Bourne and Celynne Hurst have given notice of their resignation. The Vice Chair thanked them for their commitment and wished them well in their new position and community.
- Staff advised that Kent Stewart has agreed to transition from an Alternate member to becoming a full Committee member.
- Staff advised that a call to the public for membership was just completed earlier in the year and that another Member and Alternate will not be recruited at this time. If there are challenges with quorum during meetings being met, then the staff will work with the Committee to recruit additional members.

# 3.4 Service Requests – March 2025

- Staff review service request for the previous month.

#### 4. New Business

- Rick Hansen will be in the community in June and there is an opportunity to have him address the community related to work being completed around infrastructure and Rick Hansen Foundation certification.
- Discussion ensued regarding the opportunity to have the Rick Hansen Foundation's certification adopted as City policy and announced while Rick is in town.
- Rick Hansen Foundation staff will be in touch with City staff to discuss the opportunity.

# 5. Next Meeting Date

The next meeting date is Tuesday, May 6th.

# 6. Meeting Termination

The meeting was terminated at 1:00 p.m.

Michelle Hewitt, Vice Chair